Prof.Shwe Toe ()Foreword Rector Photo (1) Foreword Rector Photo

University of Dental Medicine was first established as the only dental school in Myanmar in the year 1964 as the College of Dental Medicine.

The main responsibility of the College is to produce basic dental surgeons who can efficiently provide dental treatment for Myanmar people. In addition it was also responsible for dental auxiliary programmes such as dental nurses training and dental technology training but dental nurses training was later handed over to the University of Nursing.

The aims and objectives of the University reflect the oral and dental needs of Myanmar people and the contents of the curricula include the components of primary health care and the concept of community dentistry. It also includes some portion of problem solving skills in clinical scenario. Some portion of behavioral science is also included in the curriculum and consideration was also given for personal and professional development since the preclinical years. The curriculum is updated and modified oftenly with the recommendations of the medical education seminars to reflect the country needs.

College of Dental medicine became a full-fledged Institute in 1997 with a new campus in Than Thu Mar Road, Thingangyun Township and after the Sixth Medical Education seminar in 2003, it is known as University of Dental Medicine.

A new 3 storey main building and 50 bedded Oral and Maxillofacial teaching Hospital was inaugurated in 28th November, 2005. Faculty members of the respective disciplines are now involved not only in undergraduate teaching but also in postgraduate training such as Master of Dental Science and Diploma in General Dental Practice courses since the establishment of postgraduate course in 1993. At present, arrangements have been made to open doctorate courses for the specialties.

Quality assurance of medical and public health education is a prerequisite for good quality care and better patient and public satisfaction. As you all know that our country is striving to achieve all round development of the nation within the context of reforms in political, administrative and socio-economic system under the newly established Democratic era. In the era of increasing interconnectivity and internationalization of higher education institutions,  quality assurance is one of the concern for improvement in quality of service, maintaining standard, customer satisfaction, accountability to stakeholders, improving employee morale and satisfaction, credibility, prestige and status, image and visibility.

As our motto is “Dentists: Competency and Community-oriented”, we try to develop the competent international level dentists who are relevant to the community. After thorough discussion, the representatives from dental education and of the dental practitioners of the Asean members stated “The Bangkok Declaration of 22nd May 2015” at ASEAN Dental Forum which was held at the Faculty of Dentistry of Chulalongkorm University, Thailand. As Asean Accreditation and free flow of dentists within ASEAN countries will be established in near future, we have to prepare for Quality Assurance Framework starting from Local, National to International in accord with the guidelines of World Federation for Medical Education (WFME).

After attending the 10th IADR congress which celebrates the auspicious occasion of the Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Charkri Sorindhorh’s 60th birthday Anniversary and 47th Anniversary of Faculty of Dentistry, Mahidol University, we, Deans from dental schools of Asean region agreed to enhance academic collaboration and cooperation and we have firmly determined to combat long-term challenge of oral health improvement due to poverty and inequity.

“Getting together is beginning

Keeping together is process


Working together is success”

                                             (Henery Ford)

Finally, I would like to conclude my foreword with that saying requesting my colleagues to work together for getting successful and fruitful outcome.


Professor Dr. Shwe Toe


B.D.S. (Ygn), M.D.Sc. (Ygn), Dr. D.Sc., Dip. Med. Edu.